

Published on The Parliament (http://parliamentofuganda.nwtdemos.com)

Home > About Parliament > Administration of Parliament > Parliamentary Commission

Parliamentary Commission

Article 87A of the <u>Constitution [1]</u>establishes the Parliamentary Commission. Section 2 (2) of the **Administration of Parliament Act** provides for the composition of the Commission to include: <u>Speaker [2]</u>, <u>Deputy Speaker [2]</u>, Leader of Government Business, **Leader of the Opposition**, the Minister responsible for Finance and four Commissioners (Backbench Members of Parliament). The **Clerk to Parliament** is Secretary to the Commission.

The Commissioners of the 10th Parliament include:

- 1. The Speaker Rt Hon. Rebecca A. Kadaga
- 2. The Deputy Speaker Rt Hon. Jacob L'Okori Oulanyah
- 3. The Leader of Government Business Rt Hon. Ruhakana Rugunda
- 4. The Leader of the Opposition Hon. Winfred Kiiza
- 5. The Minister of Finance, Planning and Economic Development Hon. Matia Kasaija
- 6. Four Backbench Members:
- 1. Hon. Peter Ogwang
- 2. Hon. Cecilia Ogwal
- 3. Hon. Arinaitwe Rwakajara
- 4. Hon. Robinah Nabbanja

Functions of the Parliamentary Commission

- 1. To appoint, promote and exercise disciplinary control over persons holding public office in Parliament;
- 2. To review the terms and conditions of service, standing orders, training and qualifications of persons holding office in Parliament;
- 3. To provide a Parliamentary reporting service;
- 4. To provide such other staff and facilities as are required to ensure efficient functioning of the Parliament;
- 5. To cause to be prepared in each financial year, estimates of revenue and expenditure for the next financial year; and
- 6. To make recommendations to Parliament, or with the approval of Parliament, determine the allowances payable and privileges available to the Speaker and Members of Parliament.

Source URL: http://parliamentofuganda.nwtdemos.com/page/parliamentary-commission

Links

- [1] http://parliamentofuganda.nwtdemos.com/documents/1240/constitution
- [2] http://parliamentofuganda.nwtdemos.com/speaker-of-parliament